Effective July 1, 2017, the State of California will have new regulations concerning transgender identity and expression. The regulations address protections for individuals who identify as transgender, which include equal access to facilities such as restrooms and locker rooms.
This infographic provides employers with general information about the Fair Chance Initiative for Hiring.
In 2016, Governor Jerry Brown signed legislation mandating all single-occupancy restrooms be open to every individual regardless of gender. Business owners must comply by re-branding their restrooms with gender inclusive signage beginning March 1, 2017.
California State Minimum Wage Increase
(Senate Bill No. 3)
1/1/2017 Increases the minimum wage over the next several years to $15 an hour. Starting on 1/1/2017, businesses with 26 or more employees must pay a minimum wage of at least $10.50 per hour. Businesses with less than 26 employees are not required to make the change until 2018.
The new year brings a number of significant measures impacting employers. Below is an overview of new workplace-related laws you should be aware of:
This article is a follow up to our previous articles on the new California Paid Sick Leave requirement. As effective date of July 1, 2015 fast approaches many employers still have questions about what must be offered and are wondering if their current offerings are already compliant with the new requirements. To recap briefly, effective July 1, 2015 California employees are entitled to paid sick leave accordance with the Healthy Workplaces / Healthy Families Act of 2014, below is a brief summary of this new requirement.
Well, the good news is that labor numbers look very good for US businesses, which means there are more employees in the workplace and the economy is showing good signs for recovery. However, with more employees comes responsibility as the frost from a slowed economy begins to thaw.
REMINDER! California’s Minimum Wage increases on July 1st
California has increased its minimum wage in a two-step process. In the first step California employers are required to pay a minimum wage of $9.00 per hour effective July 1, 2014. The second step raises the minimum wage to $10.00 per hour effective January 1, 2016. The new California Minimum Wage Posting required to be posted by all employers can be found at http://www.dir.ca.gov/wpnodb.html. The new posting must be displayed beginning July 1, 2014.
Managing Challenges in the Workplace – Tips For Managers
To borrow from Charles Dickens’ A Tale of Two Cities: Today’s workplace can sometimes feel like “it [is] the best of times, it [is] the worst of times.” Personal disaster, emotional breakdowns, natural catastrophes, crime, and other unexpected events can wreak havoc in today’s workplace. Aside from productivity distractions, employers can often times be exposed to workers’ compensation claims and workplace liability claims that are avoidable depending on how management responds to certain issues. Learn how managers can best manage traumatic challenges in the workplace.
Some recent changes in the Unemployment Insurance (UI) arena will have an impact on employers moving forward in 2014. Congress mandated the states pass tough measures to penalize employers responsible for overpayments of UI benefits, which has been a huge issue during the recent recession. These overpayments have resulted in many states borrowing from the federal government to cover the shortfall in their UI funds. These new UI Integrity Law mandates required states to enact legislation by October 21, 2013. In addition to the UI Integrity Laws, the State Information Data Exchange System (SIDES) was created and will have state workforce agencies exchange information electronically rather than by paper via the U.S. Postal Service.